The Pig Returns!

Another overdue update-
 
Dad received his treatment on Wednesday.  He had his latest scan last Friday and the results were reviewed with the doctor on Wednesday.  All in all, the mass and lesions have stayed the same since the last scan.  Granted, I would be elated if they kept shrinking, but I’ll take not growing!  The doctor suggested continuing with the same chemo regimen and so that’s what they are doing.  I believe we are waiting for some miracle drug to come out to help shrink this beast inside my dad- so keep praying!  His next treatment will be on Tuesday Sept 21st and then on Monday Oct 4th.  This past holiday weekend threw off the Monday schedule; they have to gradually return back to Mondays.
 
And for those of you who questioned my pig incident (no names mentioned), it has returned!  Well, not at our house, but at the neighbors.  My mom was out walking one day and saw that lovely pig she’d seen in pictures at a neighbor’s house.  She came home with a “you won’t ever believe story” after talking to that neighbor.  Evidently this pig belongs to a guy down the road but the pig doesn’t really live at his owner’s house very often.  The pig seems to like the neighbor’s yard and pets/animals better and so it stays there most of the time.  The transient pig has been sighted over 1.5 miles away from its real owners house.  Just maybe the pig (or hog as my dad calls it) will come visit again!
 
I have a rather random request-  My mom has exhausted herself trying to figure out different recipes to use as my dad really doesn’t have an appetite or desire to eat.  Kevin and I aren’t much help when we aren’t there as we cook by taste and not straight from recipes.  (For those of you who don’t know, my mom second guesses herself when things aren’t an absolute- like a recipe.)  I know this sounds rather trivial but has become somewhat of a burden depending on who you ask.  That being said, I’m asking for recipes my mom could make when Kevin and I aren’t around that are “tried and true” and on the side of very flavorful, spicy, etc rather than bland.  Please send them to my email (j.b.gates@gmail.com) and I will print them out and pass them onto my mom.  Thanks so much in advance.
 
Once again, thanks for all the phone calls, cards, stopping by to visit- anything and everything you have done to reach out to our family.  It means more than you know.  Please continue praying for my dad and our family as well as the cancer research being conducted.
 
jen.

One response to “The Pig Returns!

  1. I had checked the email earlier today, but called and bothered everyone and then there it was right here. Anyway, it was good to talk to you–tried to talk to both but the phones didn’t cooperate. Am thrilled with the news. That pig is about like Mamma Dog that lived at Mom’s,Wilma’s, or Jerry’s, but she has moved away.
    Love to all
    Good night
    LaVerne